SRHC: The Campaigning Experience

Snapchat-4355643951114262922 (1)At this year’s SRHC Meeting, I was nominated by the Kugelman Honors Program to take place in the Student Vice President race for the entire council. The Student VP position was the highest position a student can hold, but I had not known that until the time of election itself.

The first thing I had to do was to make flyers and CV’s for the meeting. At each session that I went to, I would pass out the flyers to those who attended. When it came time for the General Business Meeting, that’s when the true campaigning began. All the candidates were posted in front of the entrance, passing out flyers and CV’s like crazy. The rush of people made it hard for each candidate to associate with each person. Then the meeting began, and the business was conducted. Towards the end of the meeting, the voting began. I had no idea that a speech was expected of me, but I managed to pull together a short message. At the end of it all, I had lost the Student VP election to Jessica Doscher of Winthrop University. With a 1/3rd of the voting population from the Carolinas, Jessica’s experience as a Student Representative with SRHC the year before, and with myself being a freshman, all the cards were stacked against me from the start. Nevertheless, she informed me the next day that her margin of victory was extremely slim.

A couple questions have been asked to me since I have come back from Greenville:

Are you disappointed that you did not win the election?

Not one bit. Jessica Doscher was a great candidate for the position and she will definitely have the support from our own council as well as the rest of the SRHC.

Are you going to run for positions in the future?

I am definitely considering it. Even though it is a lot of work to run, I will be looking into positions to run for in the future. However, that is not priority number one for me right now.

All in all, I was an honor to run for this position and to be at SRHC. More importantly, I want to thank the Kugelman Honors Program for this amazing opportunity! The continuous efforts of the students and staff of our program continue to provide opportunities like these for its members.

By: Anthony Noll, Freshman

Leave a Reply

